Finishing on an Up Note

gandalf

gandalf (Photo credit: williamcromar)

We’ve decided to dedicate Friday’s posts to thoughts that may help  weary college instructors recharge in preparation for another week.  Check here each Friday for a quote or other nugget to help you end your week and start the weekend feeling good about what you do and why you do it.

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

—-J. R. R. Tolkien (Gandalf speaking in The Fellowship of the Ring)

I often comfort myself with this one when feeling overwhelmed.  Our accelerated 8-week terms at my campus ask us to stuff and over-stuff the suitcases that are our courses.  No matter how clever and focused my teaching strategies are, I often feel that I have left much undone. Gandalf assures me that the best I can do in the time allotted will, indeed, do.

Leave a Reply

