Tech Tuesday: Windows 8

Each Tuesday, pleasureinlearning brings you Tech Tuesday.  Come back each week for more ways to become efficient and effective in your use of technology.  ~~

A couple of weekends ago, I decided to change the struts & shocks in my car.  Now, I’m no grease monkey, but I figured I could learn anything from YouTube.  Two sheared off bolts, two trips to the auto parts store, and 10 hours later, I finished.  I slept well, having saved myself $900 over what my mechanic wanted for the job.  I saved enough that I treated myself to new tires.

The moral of the story is that you can learn anything from the Internet.  Sometimes learning from the Internet is even better because you can feel less-than-awesome in private.

Windows 8 PresentationWindows 8 came out last fall.  Certainly this is a plot by Microsoft to drive us all crazy.  I suppose it is also a plot to make money.  Ah, capitalism!  If you would like to know more about this new Windows version, check out this tutorial from gcflearnfree.org.

Don’t be afraid to learn something new from the Internet!

Other places to learn things on the Internet:

P.S.  My grandma even told me this morning how she had been learning new knitting stitches from YouTube.  If she can do it, so can you!

2 comments on “Tech Tuesday: Windows 8

  1. Brian says:

    classic! B

  2. First, I am in awe of anyone who can actually change their own shocks and struts. As for the ability to find out how to do almost anything on the web,my computer geek son let me in on a trade secret early on: “Mom, when we don’t know how to do something, we just Google it for the answer…it’s almost always there.” We oldies can typically find walk-you-through-it videos on YouTube, too. We live in an age of wonders. Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

Leave a Reply

