Ending on an Up Note: Work vs. Play

“A master in the art of living draws no sharp distinction between his work and his play; his labor and his leisure; his mind and his body; his education and his recreation. He hardly knows which is which. He simply pursues his vision of excellence through whatever he is doing, and leaves others to determine whether he is working or playing. To himself, he always appears to be doing both.”

Jump RopeThis quote from Lawrence Pearsall Jacks appears in The Firestarter Sessions by Danielle LaPorte. (I recently added the book to our Good Reads sidebar.) I’m embarrassed to admit that I assumed Dr. Jacks was a New Age motivational speaker, so I was surprised to learn that he lived from 1860 to 1955 and was a British professor of philosophy and theology at Oxford University…proof, I suppose, that the best writing and ideas are indeed timeless.

Writing posts for this blog, prowling the Dollar Tree for props to use in class, creating assignments for my online platform…are those things work or play?  I’m grateful to LPJ for telling me that I can leave that judgment to someone else.

One comment on “Ending on an Up Note: Work vs. Play

  1. kencasey99 says:

    One of my favorite old books–it writes along a similar theme. Josef Pieper’s Leisure the basis of culture. TS Eliot writes the forward for one edition of it.

Leave a Reply

