Tech Tuesday: Screenshot/Screen Clipping in Office

Each Tuesday, pleasureinlearning brings you Tech Tuesday.  Come back each week for more ways to become efficient and effective in your use of technology. 

~~

Sometimes I wonder if the things that I tell you about are only things I have a need for as a technology teacher.  I hope this isn’t one of those times.  I use this as an employee and an advisor a lot, so I think I’m safe.

Screenshots are pictures of what is on your screen.  That is how I get most of the pictures you see on this blog.  There are many ways to take them.  Over the next few weeks I will show you a couple of ways.  Each method works best at different times.

Today’s method is through a feature in Microsoft Office.  I use this the most in PowerPoint and Outlook.  On the Insert Tab there is a screenshot button which allows you to insert a picture of another window that you have open.  At the bottom of the menu is the “Screen Clipping” functionality.  When using the screen clipper it switches you to the previous window that you had open and you can use your mouse to select a rectangular portion of the screen to copy and insert into your document.

Screenshot

2 comments on “Tech Tuesday: Screenshot/Screen Clipping in Office

  1. Thanks again, Kristen! This will save me a lot of time. I’m not going to tell you how I have been doing the same thing, but this is waaaaay better.

  2. You’re welcome! Every tactic has its drawbacks. This one is not good for everything. You may even see your tactic over the next couple weeks as I discuss others.

Leave a Reply

