Super Site of the Week: lifehacker

Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 8.14.56 PM

As the inevitable end of summer vacation draws near, slackers like me start wondering “How Can I Get Over the Summer Productivity Slump?”  As it turns out, Melanie Pinola has the answer…make that several answers.  I was particularly intrigued by her suggestion to try Seinfeld’s Productivity Secret...designed with us procrastinators in mind.  And for you righteous, non-slumping non-procrastinators, you will find plenty of other great ideas at lifehacker: tips and downloads for getting things done.

As I was looking for tips to help with rote memorization (Hubby and I zipped through our “alpha, bravo, charlie” drill tonight, by the way), I consulted lifehacker and found this nifty set of infographics. “Top 10 Infographics and Cheat Sheets That Make Life Easier,” posted by Whitson Gordon, has some seriously brilliant help on a variety of topics.  How to match your shirt and tie? What to do if you’re pulled over? What’s the best seat at a table?  Whitson offers all this in clever chart form, plus a few tech tricks that may inspire our Kristen the Tech Maven.

Mind Hacks, Food Hacks, Organization, How To, Best Apps….so many virtual aisles to stroll, so little time.  I’m considering spending $2 to add Launchwrite to my Mac and reminding myself to make better use of the Dropbox account I have.  I also loved “How Do You Capture Your Eureka Moments?”  Any teacher should find lots of ideas to improve productivity here.  You might also find some good topics for class discussions, particularly for cross-disciplinary projects.  Happy surfing.

Leave a Reply

