Snow Days

ReadingthuRsday-R2As a child, nothing excited more than the gift of a Snow Day when school was cancelled and the normal routines disturbed. For a child who does not have to worry about feeding everyone, getting back and forth to work, and keeping the heat going, a snow day is fun. I admit, even as an adult, a Snow Day, still is somewhat exciting. To prepare for the weather event, like all Southerners I went to the grocery story to do some stocking up. However, I did make one more stop. I went to our local public library and stocked up on library books for the week of inclement weather. Of course, I could load an electronic device with reading materials, but when I think about Snow days, I think about long hours of reading books from the library.cozyread

I fondly recall a series of Snow days when I was in the third grade when I was lucky enough to have a copy of Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I remember lying on the couch and reading and imagining how Laura lived. I still remember the first chapter where Laura tells us about playing in the attic because it was so cold outside. littlehouseinthebigwoods_thumbAccording to Laura, “The attic was a lovely place to play. The large round pumpkins made beautiful chairs and tables. The red peppers and the onions dangled overhead. The hams and venison hung in their paper wrappings, and all the bunches of dried herbs, the spicy herbs for cooking and the bitter herbs for medicine, gave the place a dusty-spiced smell.” I still remember conjuring up that attic in my head, and I played along with Mary and Laura.

While I had to look up the exact words of the quote, I knew exactly where to look in my copy of the book. The picture of the attic is still in my head. The strong images from beloved books often transcend time and place. I feel very lucky to have the image of Laura’s attic tucked into my memory. I also have to admit I am happy to have a snow day that includes a stack of library books and a little time stolen from a regular routine and responsibility.pushing-daisies

I am eager to get back to my stack of books. I am still making images in my head as I read, and I still feel I am walking along with characters and visiting new places. Happy reading to all and stay warm.

Leave a Reply

