Deep and Continuing Need

ReadingthuRsday-R2“Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.” —Maya Angelou

This quote makes me think of all the ways we have tried to get books into children’s hands. I think about the classroom, the library, the church, the book fairs, the small free lending libraries in neighborhoods, and most recently, the barber shop.group-kids-with-books Yesterday, I read an article about a young man who felt a stack of books in his local barber shop might be a good place to put a book into a child’s hand. I think about parents and relatives who give books as gifts. I think of organizations that provide books to young children free of charge.children-reading I am reminded of families who pass books from one generation to another. I think of children who share books with their friends.

So many people spend a lot of time trying to get a book into a child’s hand that will help form a habit of reading. I think the quest of placing a book in a child’s hand is such a hopeful endeavor; one never knows the ripple effect of one book on a child’s reading future.downsbook So, I honor all those who take the time to recommend a book to a child or who just take the time to listen to a child talk about a book. I am inspired by the many organizations who raise money for books for children. I continue to be excited by the Summer Reading programs public libraries offer as they do their part to help children make reading one of their deep and continuing needs. children-reading

The summer months are fast approaching, and I am asking each of us to consider helping a child from a habit of reading during those long, hot summer days.

Leave a Reply

